The Best of 2015

I think I’ve gone for a year of familiar favourites in 2015. Perhaps I didn’t quite get round to making any of the things I thought I would at the end of 2014, but it was a no less satisfying year of baking for it.

This really was the year of the Sponge Cake. I baked numerous incarnations of them, and thoroughly enjoyed each one.

jam clotted cream cake

Copious quantities of cream and fruit are excellent accompaniments.

chocolate cream raspberry cake 1

Then for something involving all the same ingredients, but a little more biscuity, these elegant (albeit enormous) viennese whirls.

viennese whirls

A’s favourite recipe of the year were these jammy crumble bars. Apparently they make excellent cycling fodder.

raspberry crumble bars 1

Lastly, who could forget the glistening glories of these salted caramel brownies? More fudge than brownie, more gooey than solid, more chocolate than cake…I wonder if these will make a repeat showing in 2016?

DSC_9322

Here’s to a healthy, happy 2016. I can’t promise to bake and blog as much as I have in the past as sadly real life is annoyingly getting in the way, but I’ll do my best. Things to look out for? I’ve got a bag of linseeds and chia seeds that are going to be going out of date by the end of the year, so perhaps I need to get my butt into gear and use them up? Chia seed cookies? Anyone? Anyone???

No, okay.

One thought on “The Best of 2015

  1. Happy new year! I really do hope those salted caramel brownies make a return as they look sinfully good. I think last year was probably the year of the sponge cake for me too, that or banana bread.

    Like

Leave a Reply

