Merry Christmas!

Hello folks!

I’ve been a bit remiss with blogging in the run up to Christmas as a dodgy oven does not a good bake maketh. So I’ve actually not had the chance to do any baking until now, with these mince pies whipped up in my parents oven.

P1070489

It’s the same recipe from last year, some sweet shortcrust pastry, and a jar of mincemeat that I’ve doctored with extra cranberries, chopped apple, raisins and a shake of speculoos spices.

P1070496

Unfortunately, whilst taking these photos, the dome of my cake stand, which was sitting on the sofa, fell onto the carpet and smashed into smithereens. It’s a lovely new cake stand with dome from M&S that I had been saving for that special occasion to take photos with, so really quite gutted!

At any rate, despite my longish break from baking, these mince pies turned out pretty well. I think I rolled out the pastry a little too thick for some of them, although that does mean a nice sturdy pie with a good pastry to filling ratio for those that prefer their pastry!

P1070497

The mincemeat is much less sweet than normal, which I really like, and packed full of fruity flavours. Although it’s unlikely I’ll be making my own mincemeat in the future, I do like the idea of throwing in some extras to make the supermarket stuff a little more special.

Hope everybody is enjoying spending a little bit of quality time at home with friends and family, and see you in the New Year! Roll on 2016!

4 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!

  1. These look lovely, especially the one oozing mincemeat from the top! I’ve never gone to the effort of making my own mincemeat but often throw in extra fruit like you just to ramp up the flavour.

    Hope you had a lovely Christmas and have recovered from the loss of your cake stand dome (so sad!!)

    Like

    1. I did subject my family to a bit of wailing, if not crying, I must confess! Oh I know, where has the time flown this year? I bet they were delicious shortbread biscuits, yum could definitely do with a few of those now 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

