Crème Fraîche Cake

Crème fraîche is great stuff for baking. Luxurious, a little tangy, and what’s more, it’s got a lovely long shelf life! When I went on my slightly wild Waitrose shopping spree, I picked up a tub with no idea what on earth I was going to do with it when I got home. Fill a cake with it? Mix it into some chocolate for a tangy ganache?

P1060680

Nah none of the above. I baked cake with it. When downers come along, flowers and cake always help ameliorate some of that bad feeling.

P1060663

I’ve gotten more than a little flower-happy. Last time it was red peonies, but then I saw some pink ones in bud, as well as some fragrant hyacinths, and guess what – bought both. Both are beautiful.

P1060669

I still can’t believe somebody from work stole my cake tin! I didn’t have a particularly strong sentimental attachment to it, but it was cheerful, and the best receptacle I had for storing cakes. Not to mention, who would want to steal a cake tin when you’ve gone to all the effort of taking homemade cake into work for everybody?

Anyway, back to this crème fraîche cake which was absolutely delicious.

P1060681

I sat on my bed in my pyjamas, all my cookbooks spread about me, and searched for recipes containing crème fraîche (surely it’s not just me that does this, by the way?!). Then, browsing online, I was inspired by a weekend cake on Fanny’s wonderful blog Like a Strawberry Milk. Originally, I intended on whisking together some crème fraîche and double cream, and sandwiching the cake with this as well as some jam. However, it was so good plain I didn’t bother with any extra adornment.

P1060685

Moist, tangy, and beautifully fluffy, it’s a great combination.

Crème Fraîche Cake

Adapted from Like a Strawberry Milk

  • 4 eggs
  • 250g sugar (I used a mixture of golden caster sugar and granulated sugar)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 200g self-raising flour (I used Waitrose sponge flour)
  • 50g salted butter, melted
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 150g crème fraîche

Preheat the oven to 180˚C. Grease and line a 20cm round cake tin.

Whisk the eggs, sugar and vanilla extract together until pale and frothy. Then sift in the flour and fold to combine.

Stir the melted butter, salt and creme fraiche together in the saucepan. Beat together with a large spoonful of the egg/sugar/flour mixture, and this to the egg/sugar/flour bowl, and fold through until combined.

Place in the oven and bake for around 30 minutes, then reduce the oven temperature to 170˚C and bake a further 20 minutes. A skewer should come out clean when the cake is done. Leave to cool then unmould. You can slice it in half and sandwich with sweetened crème fraîche mixed with double cream, and a layer of jam, or leave it plain.

3 thoughts on “Crème Fraîche Cake

  1. What a lovely, fluffy cake. I’ve never thought to put creme fraiche in a cake.

    Sorry to hear somebody stole your cake tin. What meanies! Although I suppose it gives you a legitimate excuse to buy a new, pretty cake tin..?

    Like

Leave a Reply

