Banana, Salted Caramel and Milk Chocolate Cake

I fancy that the majority of my bakes result from this “Waste Not Want Not” attitude I have towards leftover ingredients from other recipes. Whether it’s these almond slices, or these gorgeous brownies, I love that little bubble of satisfaction I get from using up leftovers, getting my creative side into gear, and getting something delicious out of it too!

So this cake was an invention which was purely a means to use up some leftover Stork, and a third of a jar of salted caramel leftover from these decadent brownies. I took them into work, and it was one of the most popular things I have ever baked!

P1060164

Banana and Caramel are a beautiful pairing, and with a sprinkling of milk chocolate thrown in the mix too, it’s a perfect sliced into lunchbox-ready squares, wrapped in foil. As with all bananary-bakes, it just gets better with time too.

Banana, Salted Caramel, and Milk Chocolate Traybake

  • 180g soft margarine/softened butter
  • 150g light brown sugar
  • 3 eggs (I was trying to use up a leftover egg white, so I used 2 eggs, 1 egg white, and a splash of milk)
  • 1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 190g self-raising flour (I used cake flour)
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1/3 jar salted caramel
  • milk chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 180˚C. I then stuck my unpeeled banana into the oven at this point – apparently it is a good way to enhance the banana-ry flavour when they aren’t super ripe yet.

Beat the margarine/butter with the sugar until light and fluffy. Then whisk in the eggs, one by one, with a spoonful of flour if it looks like it is starting to curdle. Then sift in the remaining flour and bicarbonate of soda, and mix together to form a cohesive batter. Fold in the mashed banana.

Tip the batter into a prepared cake tin, smooth flat, then dollop small spoonfuls of caramel over the surface, and swirl into the mixture with a knife. Sprinkle milk chocolate chips over the surface and then put into the oven. Bake for 25 minutes until risen and a skewer inserted comes out clean.

2 thoughts on “Banana, Salted Caramel and Milk Chocolate Cake

  1. Salted caramel in a banana traybake sounds so good. The vast majority of my bake choices stem from a “waste not want not” attitude as well. At the moment I seem to be constantly baking with bananas, it’s getting ridiculous! Haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

