The Best of 2014

I have epic Quality Street withdrawal symptoms. This consists of my eyes honing in on anything purple and plastic, and poking around hopefully around all the cupboards in case I hid some chocolates in one of them. My pockets rustle with empty foil wrappers.

Last year, I wrote a recap post. There’s been so much baking in 2014 I knew I’d do it again. I’ve really stretched myself in so many ways, trying difficult techniques, and a heck a lot of French patisserie. So here we go!

The year started off with setting myself the challenge of conquering River Café’s infamous chocolate nemesis. What a way to start January.

DSC07018

Buoyed from my first challenge, I finally braved the italian meringue method of macaron-making. With Pierre Hermé’s book, there was no stopping me! I baked and baked and baked, and my family pleaded with me that they were all mightily sick of macarons.

DSC07592

On a similarly Parisian theme, I had to bake fresh fruit tartlets, and these strawberry beauties had me sold.

DSC07804

Then even more French patisserie with the Gateau L’Opera

P1040014

Perhaps a change from French indulgence. This summery red, white and blue cheesecake was absolutely delicious, and required no baking at all. Less of a French theme going on, unless you just count the colours.

DSC_7156-1

Many birthdays followed, requiring the obligatory inclusion of chocolate cake. Never put birthday candles on this cake in 30˚C heat – it melteth….

P1030856

Then time for something savoury with these chorizo sausage rolls which were the BEE’S KNEES and sure to get another outing in the future!
P1040491

And then, come Christmas, bringing in the festivity with these gorgeous mince pies. I couldn’t stop making these over and over again.

P1040762

For 2015, there’s a few things I’d like to get to grips with.

Red velvet cake has always been a tricky one with me, so I’d love to find a recipe I was 100% happy with. Then in the savoury department, perhaps I’ll finally get round to making a pie that doesn’t contain apple! Pork pie anyone? Then perhaps more experimentation with yeast – brioche, and maybe a homemade Panettone next Christmas!

Let’s see what happens :).

Happy New Year! 

6 thoughts on “The Best of 2014

  1. I just want to shove every picture/bake here IN MY FACE! I had forgotten how much I drooled over that chocolate cake the first time round. You’ve certainly had a fantastic baking year. All the best for 2015!

    Like

    1. Thanks, that’s such a lovely comment 🙂 I love the thought of applying for GBBO but the reality scares me to bits! (Paul Hollywood glaring at baked goods – “Not happy the bread is underbaked by 0.5 seconds and it’s all stuck together!”)

      Like

Leave a Reply

