Leek and Bacon Tart

I promised a yummy puff pastry tart recipe, and here it is!

P1040503

I tweaked this tart, because I wanted the pastry base to cook to a really crisp finish, and for the toppings to retain lots of flavour with getting too salty in combination together.

P1040504

Here’s what I did. When baking with shortcrust pastry, you nearly always blind bake the pastry before the toppings go on. So I thought I’d pretty much copy this with puff pastry. I docked the middle well, glazed the whole shebang with beaten egg, and it came out of the oven after 15 minutes looking like a beautifully risen brown pillow.

I then sprinkled on the cooked leeks, bacon lardons, a little cheese, and stuck it back in the oven. It didn’t seem to need that long, only 10-12 minutes, and it came out, the pastry brown and crackly, the lardons even cracklier. I was basically licking my lips as I took the photos!

P1040529

I’ve only made one adjustment to the recipe below. I’d fried the bacon lardons to such a crisp finish that I didn’t think they needed the extra oven time. Instead throw them over the pastry once the whole tart is done.

Leek and Bacon Tart

Adapted from BBC Good Food

  • rectangle of puff pastry, cold
  • 90g bacon lardons
  • 2 leeks, sliced
  • 16g herb and cheese Boursin (1 wrapped portion in a 6 pack)
  • 10g grated gruyère cheese
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten

Roll out the puff pastry to the thickness of a £1 coin, and lay onto a baking tray. Trim the edges to form a rectangle with a sharp knife, and score a border within the rectangle 1.5cm from the edge. Prick the pastry within the border thoroughly with a fork. Put into the fridge to chill for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 200˚C.

Lightly fry the bacon lardons until crisp. Remove from the pan. Fry the sliced leek in the bacon fat until soft. Mix the leeks with the boursin, and set aside to cool.

Brush the borders and the centre of the puff pastry rectangle well with beaten egg. Be careful to not let it drip over the cut edges, as it stops the pastry rising properly. Bake for 15 minutes until puffed up.

Spread a layer of leek over the pastry, and top with a sprinkling of grated cheese.

Bake the tart in the oven for 10-15 minutes until golden, and crisp. Sprinkle the bacon lardons over the top. 

P1040512

Browsing the web, I’ve also come across links for all sorts of other amazing-looking puff pastry tarts. Check out these breakfast tarts from Drizzle and Dip, oh I am so definitely making these next!
9 thoughts on “Leek and Bacon Tart

Leave a Reply

