Lemon and Raspberry Cake

Wooohoo, the Great British Bake Off is back! I’m so excited to have this on our screens again, and particularly pleased at how the first episode didn’t go into wild and wonderful, but concentrated on making some really excellent classic recipes again. If it continues this way, I’ll be very happy. It was getting a little too esoteric and the level of achievement somewhat impossible in the last series.

Anyway, the last few weeks have been busy, and I’ve been neglecting the baking. I have on the other hand discovered Richmond Park is utterly gorgeous. Deer everywhere just casually sunning themselves along the road. How can I have lived so close to such a stunning place for so many years and never noticed?

Anyway, the return of GBBO is a fantastic motivator for turning the oven back on. I found a neglected pat of butter in the fridge, a few lemons, some eggs….and hey presto, lemon cake.

P1030859

This time I paired it with some juicy raspberries, and a generous slathering of jam to sandwich the two layers together.

P1030905

It was sweet, and tangy, a glorious cake perfect for tea time. I took far too many photos, but I’m still trying to get the hang of the manual settings on my camera. I keep over or underexposing.

P1030911

I wish I’d had my camera with me in Richmond Park. There’s always next time, eh?

P1030900

The pairing of raspberry and lemon worked really well. It was a tad on the dry side – I think I overbaked the sponges in my determination not to under bake them, and by trimming the sponges whilst they were still hot, probably let them dry out even more in the process. It makes me feel a bit better that some of the GBBO contestants overbaked their sponges too.

P1030905

Also, on a more bakey themed note, I was wistfully window shopping in Anya Hinmarch a few weeks back and saw the MOST AWESOME BAG ever. It’s a giant golden custard cream!

Custard Cream in Pale Gold Metal_1

The downside is…you don’t want to know how much it costs. You could buy approximately 3,000 packets of custard creams with the amount.

6 thoughts on “Lemon and Raspberry Cake

  1. Awesome looking cake. So fresh and summery.

    I saw that bag online a few weeks ago and thought the same! If I had money to burn I would most definitely buy one. Imagine carrying a giant custard cream with you on the bus/tube, to the supermarket etc…!

    Like

Leave a Reply

