Pushing Baking Boundaries

My job exhausts, drains and makes me feel like a semi-human being most of the time. However, it’s also true that without it, I couldn’t splurge on cookbooks and baking ingredients the way I have been lately. My latest acquisition is Christophe Felder’s Patisserie, now translated into English. Behind the floridly pink cover, it is full of pictures, techniques, instructions, and I can’t wait to get baking from it. Being written in English, my mind reads the recipes with far more ease than the heavy dictionary-usage required with Herme’s Larousse des desserts.

I feel like I’ve really made progress from my beginnings with The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook, which is veritably dog-eared by now, as is Ottolenghi. This year, I want to push myself further, and get out of my baking comfort zone. I’ve started with the Gateau L’Opera, but I’ve set myself some other goals too.

I want to make:

  • crème pâtissière (yup, still never made it before!)
  • eclairs
  • laminated croissant dough
  • brioche
  • daquoise
  • crème brûlée (because A likes it, and I need an opportunity to try out my new blow torch)

Maybe some things that aren’t so French-orientated will spring to mind later, but at the moment you can see where my thoughts lie!

DSC07747

Meanwhile, I also need to figure out how to use up my accumulated random ingredients! Any thoughts of uses for: frozen whipping cream, double cream, puff pastry, pate sucrée pastry, a tiny ball of sweet shortcrust pastry, lime juice, and leftover coffee syrup?

Leave a Reply

