Double Chocolate Loaf Cake

After any run, my iPod congratulates me on running another 500km. It’s enormously ego-boosting, but somewhat mistaken. I may no longer be in slothful hibernation, but there’s still a long way to go in terms of regaining the half-marathon fitness of yesteryear.

I had a really productive Saturday in terms of getting up early, and getting lots done before lunchtime. As well as slotting in the early morning run, I also had this baked, and really to be scoffed before half the house had even woken up. Oh how I love baking in an empty kitchen…

There was week-old pot of whipping cream in the fridge, two-thirds full. It still seemed okay, and I wanted to use it up. In the end I turned towards Ottolenghi.

DSC07509

Ottolenghi: The Cookbook has a recipe for chocolate cupcakes. I wasn’t in a cupcakes mood, but I reckoned it might work as a loaf cake too. I made quite a lot of modifications. As well as sour cream being substituted with week-old-whipping cream, I also didn’t have any black treacle, or even vegetable oil handy. Luckily, the cake recipe was quite happy to accommodate my numerous changes!

DSC07515

Remember to cover the top of the cake with foil 30 minutes into baking, or the top tends to get slightly scorched, oops! I hate it when that happens.

DSC07530

The cake’s texture is surprisingly light, a crisp crust of an exterior hiding the temptingly dark, soft crumb inside. The extra chunks of milk chocolate add a burst of milky sweetness. I can see why this works well in cupcakes, because the cake is plain enough to be a great pairing with a really rich chocolate ganache. It’s also substantial enough that a slice of this really helps to fill out those midmorning munchies! 🙂

Next time I might try replacing the cream with yoghurt, and see how that turns out, and I would be curious to note how using treacle instead of golden syrup would alter the flavour.

Also I realise that it’s Easter weekend, and I suck at managing to bake anything seasonally themed at the right time of year. Some of my easter egg chocolate contributed towards the chocolate quota within this cake …. no, doesn’t count?

Double Chocolate Loaf Cake

Adapted from Ottolenghi: The Cookbook

  • 2 eggs
  • 115ml whipping cream
  • 100g butter
  • 60g caster sugar
  • 60g light brown sugar
  • 30g golden syrup
  • 120g plain flour
  • 35g cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 40g ground almonds
  • 150g milk chocolate, chopped up into small pieces

Preheat the oven to 180˚C. Grease and line a 2 lb loaf tin.

Melt the butter in a pan, and set to one side to cool slightly. Beat together the eggs, cream, sugar and golden syrup, followed by the cooled melted butter.

Separately, mix together all the dry powdery ingredients, and then tip into the  bowl of liquid ingredients. Fold together to combine, then mix in the chocolate pieces.

Transfer the cake mixture into the loaf tin, smooth the top, then pop into the oven to bake for around 45 minutes until springy and cooked through. Cover the top with tinfoil at 30 minutes to stop the top from burning.

DSC07526

3 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Loaf Cake

Leave a Reply

