White Chocolate Cigarillo Cake

Spring is a time for new beginnings. Sunshine, fresh air, warmth equals energy for change eh?

DSC07250

I’ve got a new haircut, and aching muscles to thank for it, but there are a few things that aren’t going to change much with the seasons round here. For instance, there’s always going to be cake.

The contents are really quite simple. It’s layers of almond buttermilk sponge, sandwiched with raspberry jam and finished off with white chocolate buttercream. I weighed up the pros and cons of fresh fruit or flowers to decorate the top. Of course in the end, I had to go for the edible option 🙂 If you want to go for flowers, try and make sure they are organic or you might find you’re ingesting an unpalatable amount of pesticide.

DSC07267

The cake and icing recipe is based on this one from BBC Good Food. However, I had some leftover buttermilk from making red velvet cupcakes, so I substituted that for the yoghurt in the recipe, along with a generous spoonful of cream cheese I also had leftover.

I made this cake in stages, first baking the sponges then freezing them, before finally finishing the assembly several days later. Cor, I wouldn’t use this sponge recipe again. It is very rich, moist and dense, but oh so heavy. I imagine it holds itself very well for layering and wedding cake type affairs, but it was far too much. The white chocolate icing was also far too sweet for me.

DSC07265

Next time, I’d make this with the lighter texture of a classic victoria sponge. Perhaps ordinary buttercream, or a mascarpone icing would better float my boat.

The cigarillos I bought online from the Chocolate Trading Co. and I was very impressed by them – they were delivered nice and quickly, all the cigarillos were intact, and they were delicious!

3 thoughts on “White Chocolate Cigarillo Cake

Leave a Reply

