The Return of the (Carrot) Cupcake

Currently re-reading Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. It’s amazing how many new layers you can uncover about a book when you pick it up again after years. I’d never noticed before quite how funny Austen’s satire genuinely is.

Going back to oldies but goodies, after a long hiatus, I baked cupcakes. As anything with a bit of autumnal spice is floating my boat at the moment, it was time to grate the carrots!

DSC06533

The first time I made these carrot cupcakes, I forgot to add any baking powder. They’d already been in the oven, so cue gnashing of teeth and googling “what-to-do-with-unrisen -cakes” (but in the end the family human dustbin ate them). Batch 2 fared better, I didn’t forget any raising agents, and they puffed up like little cakey beauties.

DSC06524

The Hummingbird recipe remains my favourite – see this post for all the reasons why. I got 7 cupcakes out of my mixture, which is based on one third of all the ingredients in the full carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cupcakes

  • 1 egg
  • 100g light brown sugar
  • 75ml vegetable oil
  • 25ml milk
  • drop of vanilla extract
  • 100g plain flour
  • 1/3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/3 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of ground ginger
  • pinch of salt
  • 100g carrots, grated
  • 30g walnuts, chopped

Preheat the oven to 180˚C. Beat the egg, sugar, oil, milk and vanilla extract together with a whisk until smooth. Sieve over the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, cinnamon, ground ginger and salt, and fold in with a large metal spoon. Fold in the carrots and walnuts. Fill the cupcake cases, and bake for 20 minutes until springy and a skewer inserted comes out clean. Ice when cold, I used the standard Hummingbird Bakery cream cheese icing. I’m a bit weird, and it’s a real waste of food, but I’m one of those people who love slathering a cupcake with icing (it looks prettier, see?) but then I scrape it all off when it comes to the eating. Sorry.

DSC06531
Despite the cream cheesyness of the icing, do not refrigerate these cupcakes. The cooler temperature for some reason I cannot fathom, makes the sponge lose some of its light fluffiness. You have been warned.
One thought on “The Return of the (Carrot) Cupcake

Leave a Reply

