Gingery Biscuits

Autumn is a season I approach with mixed feelings. It’s a beautiful time of year – all the vibrant colours, yet it comes with the bittersweet realisation that Winter is approaching.

I find the best way to focus on the sweeter side is to immerse myself in the fruits of the season – taken quite literally. The bushes are bursting with ripe berries, the kitchen crowded with windfall apples, and I find myself drawn towards warmer flavours again.

Crystallised ginger is a new discovery for me. I’ve realised it’s fantastic in Autumnal baking – adding that zing and a touch of heat. I had great success using it in flapjacks. I’ve got a faithful fork biscuit saved up, and thought I’d use up some crystallised ginger in these.

DSC06498

I added a sprinkle of ground ginger to the mix, and a generous handful of crystallised ginger strips. The crystallised ginger adds a delightful chew to the short, crumbly texture of the biscuit, which is almost like shortbread. Only even better! 🙂

Gingery Biscuits

  • 4 oz butter
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 oz caster sugar
  • pinch of ground ginger
  • 5 oz self-raising flour
  • 1-2 oz crystallised ginger strips (depends how gingery you want the biscuits to be)

Preheat the oven to 180˚C. Mix the butter, salt and sugar together with a spoon until just combined. Then stir through the ground ginger and flour to form a soft dough. Finally press the crystallised ginger into the dough. Roll out small balls, and press them flat, then press the impression of the tines of a fork into the top of the biscuits.

Bake the biscuits for approximately 12-15 minutes until lightly golden around the edges. Transfer onto a cooling rack to turn cold.

DSC06499

Originally, I intended to make a copycat version of the posh supermarket dark chocolate-and-ginger biscuits. However, when I came to nibble on one of these, I completely changed my mind. They are so moreish they need no further adornment.

DSC06500

I used to think that effort was proportional to how much I’d enjoy the finished result – but it’s clear from these that in minutes you can whip up something wonderfully tasty. In fact I thought these were even yummier than the flapjacks!

One thought on “Gingery Biscuits

Leave a Reply

