Coconut Macaroons

I didn’t expect these to be anywhere near as good as they were. Moreishly chewy bites full of flavour – I adapted them from  a combination of Chocolate and Zucchini and Nigella Lawson’s recipes. I hope they will be much appreciated by their other eaters!

Coconut Macaroons

adapted from Chocolate and Zucchini

  • 3 egg whites
  • large pinch of sea salt
  • 160g caster sugar
  • 200g dessicated coconut
  • 50g ground almonds (or increase the dessicated coconut to 250g)
  • dark chocolate

Preheat the oven to 180˚C and line a baking tray with baking paper. Lightly whisk the eggs in a bowl, and add the salt, sugar, dessicated coconut and ground almonds. Mix together with a fork until combined, then take out spoonfuls, squeeze together in your hand and press into a flattish biscuit. Place them on the baking tray and bake for 12 minutes until golden. Leave them on the baking tray for 2 minutes, before taking them off and cooling on a cooling rack. When the coconut macaroons are cold, melt the dark chocolate until liquid, and drizzle over the macaroons to form a zig-zag pattern. Wait for the chocolate to set, then tuck in!

20130407-202659.jpg

3 thoughts on “Coconut Macaroons

  1. Wow, those macaroons look delish! I actually just got into the baking gig and recently I made peanut butter and jelly cookies (my friend gave me the recipe) and they were to die for! I love coconut and any type of cookies so I’m sure I’ll love coconut macaroons!

    Like

Leave a Reply

