Scandi Cinnamon and Cardamom Twists

Lately I’ve been on a yeasty baking spree, all inspired by the wonderful writings of Signe Johansen on her Scandinavian baking blog. There seems to be something wonderfully simple, functional, yet deliciously stylish about the Scandinavian aesthetic in general, and baking is certainly no exception.

3

I do love a good cinnamon bun, so I jumped at the opportunity to make these at the weekend. They turned out so beautifully that I knew I had to try the recipe on Signe’s blog for cardamom twists. I’ve never tried cardamom in my baking before. As I was grinding up the pods, I was rather doubtful whether I would like the taste as I inhaled a rather medicinal scent wafting up to my nostrils.

Never fear. The twists were fantastic. Due to my doubts, I only made half the quantity of cardamom twists, and substituted cinnamon for the remaining half. I have to say, they were all absolutely phenomenal. The cinnamon were still my favourite, but the cardamom had a really unique flavour that became really quite addictive! As with all things homemade, these are at their best fresh out of the oven, but they are still great after a gentle reheating in the microwave or the oven on a low heat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

