Chocolate Mug Cake

I noticed, whilst food shopping, that Waitrose now stock Lindt baking chocolate. I loved this when I was last on holiday in France, and brought several bars back with me, which have now been used up now. At first I was very pleased to see that it had finally made its way across the English Channel (or la Manche) but then I saw the prices! Gah, so expensive!

Chocolate plans foiled (not that I am currently supposed to be buying chocolate, mind) I came back home only to discover what has to be the best speedy alternative to a corner shop chocolate bar ever. What am I talking about? None other than the best chocolate mug cake ever! A chocolate hug in a mug – it only takes 3 minutes max from start to finish! Fantastic!

230721719alt1

Because there are no eggs in the recipe, you don’t get the horrible eggy smell when you’re blasting it in the microwave, which is a brilliant added bonus. The cake is dense, and wonderfully open to a variety of tempting additions. I guess you could also try baking the mix in the oven, but surely that would take far too long?

Chocolate Mug Cake

  • 4 tbsp caster sugar
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 4 tbsp flour (self-raising or plain both work)
  • 3 tbsp milk (water will work as well)
  • 3 tbsp oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence

Put the dry ingredients into the mug and mix them together. Then stir in the oil, milk and vanilla essence and microwave it on a mid-high setting for around 2 minutes. A lot of the recipes state to microwave it on high for 3 minutes or more, but I disagree. It continues to cook a little if you leave it to stand for a couple of minutes. You want to undercook it rather than overcook it. If it’s undercooked it will have a nice gooey middle that you can pass off as a microwave chocolate fondant, but once you’ve heated it too long, all that cake is good for is the bin.

If you don’t have the exact ingredients above, I reckon you can tinker around a bit with them, with no ill effects. For instance, the second time I made it, I didn’t have any milk but I did have single cream, so I used 3 tbsp single cream, 2 tbsp oil, and 1 tbsp water instead. My flatmate wolfed it down in less than 60 seconds flat so I’m guessing it tasted good!

This quick recipe is going to prove lots of fun in future with further experimentation! I’m also going to have a go adding additions such as chocolate chips, marshmallows, or syrups and sauces, and also to find a healthier version that is much more guilt-free!

Leave a Reply

